Living at the convergence of faith and art.

Creating Any-Way

My art-table.Wow – the Holy-days can really take the wind out of your sails as life briefly tacks off in another direction.  Christmas and New Year’s have been great celebrations, but I’m raring to get back to art-making

I don’t know about you, but for me being productive right now is a real challenge.  We’re living at the estate of my in-laws, tending things and helping to mend and maintain.  And while that’s a joy of service, it doesn’t leave much room to set-up my own studio space.  Not being our house, we’re not able to do all we’d like to while living here.

The garage is a great workspace, when it’s not cold.  I have trouble concentrating when I’m cold and while some might suggest that shivering could produce some good art, it’s just not my thing.  So I wait for warmer days and the work stands about on hold.

In the dining room however, I’ve a different situation.  I have an art table set up where I draw, mostly.  It’s something I can do without upsetting the house with a big sprawling mess of creativity.  And when we have guests, it’s all really easy to neaten up and “hide”.  I use one of my white (bedsheet) drop cloths.  It all ends up looking kind of mysterious.

I know I’m not alone.  I know there are gobs of other artists out there working, as Eleanor Roosevelt said, beginning right now, with what you have, right where you are. I love that concept because no matter how many excuses I make, in some way – where I am, using what I have, doing it now – I am able to continue to create highly skilled creative expression.

Happy Art-Making!

Comments are closed.