Living at the convergence of faith and art.

Creative Community

Bread LoafI’m looking for the faith-driven creative community.

For the last few months I’ve been searching for fellowship with other faith-driven artists. In that context of community, I’ve already made some new friends. In general I’m been seeking along two avenues of engagement; 1) I want to actively participate in the conversation of faith & art, which is why I read so much and keep this blog; 2) I am looking to make faith-driven friends, other art-makers who are actively developing their own art-practices. Faith-driven creatives who want to share what’s happening in their lives, their work, and their journey.

I don’t know what that could look like, but I think I do know what I am seeking; deeply rooted creative Christians who take their gifts seriously, who know they cannot fully use them in isolation, and who are working to apply what God has given them to the needs of the Church and the world.

What I Avoid

I’m really very open to possibilities, and sadly I probably know more about what I’m not looking for than what I am. That’s possibly because I’ve been in the context of creative fellowship only once before, and that was in the midst of a theatre company. It taught me a great deal through both victory and the hardships of tribulation & trial.

What I avoid is “Christian Art”, “good enough”, yet another organization / another committee / an in-church arts group / agendas / politics, to name just a few things.

Wired for Fellowship

These days I make visual art, and my purview of the arts in general has greatly enlarged. I relish conversation with performance artists, visual artists, and literary artists. In terms of creativity, there is much which transcends one’s medium and is common to all of us.

As a visual artist working alone – I need fellowship with other artists, and I believe God has specifically wired us for it. Certainly in the context of our faith, God is constantly urging us to gather, to support one another; to minister and allow ourselves to be ministered to. We need one another.

While I very comfortably rub shoulders with non-believing artists, I long for deeply meaningful, abiding friendship and fellowship with my fellow faith-driven artists. We have so much to teach one another, and to share, in mutual need. The more I read about and talk to faith-driven artists the more I realize that a majority of us have deep wounds in need of healing.

Large Questions

There are far reaching ideas of faith, art, ministry and creative witness that need clarification. I think the majority of us, both prominent and hidden, are experimenting with what the convergence of faith & art might look like. We’re concerned with what it’s impact on the Church, on the arts, and on the world can be to the glory of God.

These are huge questions which go beyond us as individuals, questions that will only be explored by our breaking bread together, praying together, celebrating and grieving together. My understanding is that this is precisely how the Body of Christ is supposed to work – iron sharpens iron.

Your Thoughts?

Where do you find engagement in the faith-driven creative community? What has been your experience in that context? What might you be searching for in a faith-driven fellowship or gathering? What do you not want or need?

2 responses

  1. I really miss the meetings we used to have with the Art and Coffee group. It’s been far too long!

    June 10, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    • Lew

      Johnathan – Thank you for your comment.

      The principal reason I requested the opportunity to join the Green Bean Group is because there were gatherings happening. I know nothing of what they were focused around, or why they stopped. All I know is that I had hoped to join the conversation.

      Maybe we can simply find a reason to gather just to get to know one another, place faces to names, and just talk about whatever’s on our minds; just simple conversations.

      Just a thought.

      June 13, 2012 at 5:59 am