Living at the convergence of faith and art.

Freedom: Journal Post 04.27.16

Rejection-Identity-COVER - sml

I had quite a powerful experience last night, not a big deal, but some kind of breakthrough nonetheless.

I woke up in the middle of the night, as is my custom. I went to the restroom and returned to bed in a kind of funk. I’ve been working over the course of a number of months to be free of negative, hideous, thoughts. From my decades of both a rough upbringing and my war studies (40+ years), I know that they’re a spiritual thing

So I crawl back into bed and the filthy scenarios going through my head were just driving me nuts. I thought I’d already gotten rid of this stuff. Why has this filth returned?

Then I remembered something written by Faith Rockrimmon about rejection, and I paraphrase; Rejection is not how we rid ourselves of what ails our spirit. Rejection doesn’t remove it. We need to refocus our attention deeply into the reality of our relationship with Father God. We need to go and get ourselves buried in Him and His love.

My head was full of filth, I wanted desperately to be free of it and so I began not to run from this enemy, but to affirm my identity in Father God. I don’t know how long I laid there, but I offered a constant stream of short declarations of Truth, all in Jesus’ name; I am priceless, in Jesus’ name. I am built and birthed by Father God, in Jesus’ name. I have a divine, heavenly destiny, in Jesus’ name. He loves me, and sent His one and only Son to save me, in Jesus’ name.; simple, short declarations, one after another.

Eventually, I felt something in my body, a lightness, a total numbness, I don’t know what, but in the midst of it I couldn’t feel my body. I couldn’t feel the bed. Something lifted from me, or from out of me … I really don’t know. Amidst my on-going declarations, this lifting sensation happened strongly three times, and lightly, twice. Something happened, and in the midst of these experiences, I declared; Father I am unafraid. Father I will go wherever You are taking me.

Now, this morning, I believe what I felt was the spirits of those filthy things leaving. They were utterly unable to stand in the Presence of the declarations I was making in Jesus’ name.  That’s the important thing; In Jesus’ name.

Faith Rockrimmon’s book Rejection and Identity is a landmark work in my life because of the premise. She says that rejection and shame are spirits. They’re not mental conditions, or the result of abuse, etc. They’re spirits, and ignoring them, rejecting them, rebuking them is not how we can be free of them. The key is found within our relational identity with Father God, and none other. In short, if we simply disengage from our battle with them, and immerse ourselves in the Truth(s) of our relationship with Father God, we cut off the root source of their power to remain. They cannot stand in the Presence and fact(s) of our relationship with and in Father – period.

This is not an external, psychological battle with our thoughts, or behavior modification. This isn’t a battle at all. This liberty is something we already possess if we will simply engage in it and dwell there. There is a complete and total absence of conflict because this transformation is about engaging in the Truth(s) of our relationship in Father, and not about any form or sort of conflict whatsoever.

I’m free … I feel different … the voice(s) of gloom and doom are gone. I am declaring my belief that they never return … in fact that in itself is non-existent. I declare that I am, in Jesus’ name – period.

Amen ~

05.09.16

Since that morning’s episode I have been revisited by what I call spirits of filth, but only lightly and briefly.  Each time I once again state the emphatic Truth(s) of my relationship with and in Father God.  The spirits flee immediately.  I praise God and thank Faith Rockrimmon for this tool I can apply from a seat of rest, with complete and total confidence that I Am free!

8 responses

  1. Reblogged this on Gigi's Table and commented:
    Exceptional Freedom!

    May 10, 2016 at 12:31 pm

    • Lew

      Ginny – Thank you for the reblog. I’m happy that Faith’s writing is being spread far and wide. I know it’ll help so many people who feel so helpless.

      May 13, 2016 at 6:19 pm

  2. I love this testimony!
    And it reminds me of the temptation of Christ.
    Jesus went out by command of the Holy Spirit into the wilderness to hear from God and seek wisdom and revelation, but, instead of being alone with God, the scriptures said satan was talking to him the whole time. Jesus finally said get thee behind me satan, and as He turned to worship God only, angels came and strengthened Him.

    May 10, 2016 at 1:26 pm

    • Lew

      Paul – Thank you for stopping by and for your comment. I love the empowerment Father gives us, and that Jesus taught by example. We merely need to face the Liar in the spirit and declare our identity.

      May 13, 2016 at 6:18 pm

  3. Great post, Lew.

    May 10, 2016 at 11:25 pm

    • Lew

      Ginny – Thank you for the encouragement. I love Faith’s writing. She really nourishes my spirit.

      May 13, 2016 at 6:13 pm

  4. Reblogged this on fuzzypebble and commented:
    Faith is declarative and evident by action, speaking, and by living. You are what you speak, and shall have what you think…God in relentless about your choices and your freedom to choose Him delights Him.

    May 12, 2016 at 2:10 pm

    • Lew

      Fuzzypebble – Thank you for the comment; “Faith is declarative and evident by action, speaking, and by living” I couldn’t have said it better myself. And thank you for the repost. I love the writings of Faith Rockrimmon. She’s so very transparent and vulnerable, and therefore so very nourishing.

      Lew ~

      May 13, 2016 at 6:12 pm